Advocacy Committee

The EU Advocacy Committee has been established to share lobbying best practices.


Develop our membership’s advocacy skills and be prepared to advocate in favour of association leaders’ interest if ever required at EU level.


The Committee will consist of a Chair appointed by the ESAE President and up to 16 volunteer members, who are full ESAE members or partners. Any ESAE member can join the Committee, following a call for members and will be appointed by the Board for a period of 1 year, with a maximum of four consecutive terms.


Meetings of the EU Advocacy Committee will be held at least bi-annually. A schedule of meetings will be developed and agreed to annually, depending on the Committee objectives. Meetings will be held in Brussels with an option of virtual attendance, or as virtual meetings. It is expected that each member will attend a minimum of two meetings each year.


It is preferable that decisions of the Committee are made by consensus however; there may be circumstances where a matter is decided by single majority vote. Each member is entitled to one vote, except that the Chairperson who may exercise a casting vote should this be necessary. Partners do not have voting rights.


Chair: To be appointed

  • Alfons Westgeest (Kellen)
  • Benita Lipps (DaVinci Institute)
  • Caroline Teugels (FIP-IFP)
  • Dirk Bochar (FEANI)
  • Filip Geerts (CECIMO)
  • Frederic Destrebecq (European Brain Council)
  • Dr. Holger Muehlbauer (TeleTrusT)
  • Jan Lichota (Visit Brussels)
  • Philip Springuel (World Lottery Association)
  • Typhaine Beaupérin (FERMA)

Invitation to Join

ESAE members interested to join the Committee are hereby invited to express their interest by filling out an online request by 10 January 2017